Moodboard Musings

watermarked-slime

 

Moodboards, collages, scrapbooking. All of them aren’t exactly the same, but they’re pretty similar. I’m not exactly what you would call a crafty person — I don’t spend my time doing DIYs and doing little craft projects like knitting a cute stuffed animal, or making beaded jewellery — but I do enjoy a little hands-on project now and then. Besides, the idea of starting my own tiny compilation of collages had been stirring in the back of my mind for a while, but I wasn’t sure exactly how to go about it.

Along with that, a while ago, I was feeling rather disorganized. With the arrival of the school holidays, even though I greatly appreciated the break, two and a half months with nothing to do (other than study, which isn’t a very appealing option) didn’t seem too fun. On top of that, I was also in the middle of what you would call a “creative slump” — basically, any sort of artwork or writing piece I did came out absolutely trashy. It was frustrating, to say the least, and the worst part was the fact that I didn’t know how to deal with it. Coping with writer’s block was one thing, but dealing with a creative slump was entirely another, and it left me in a sort of drained mood — both mentally and emotionally, as I didn’t know what to do.

Then Roxanne from The Magical Canopy released a post about creating moodboards, and she made it look so fun. I figured, hey, why not since I have nothing to do anyway? And I’m glad I took the plunge, because after I spent a whole afternoon cutting pictures from magazines, pasting them on paper and doodling random squiggles, my mind felt so much clearer. I seriously have no idea why, but as I dusted my hands off and looked back at my handiwork, a sense of satisfaction filled me. It was strange and wonderful all at once.

Of course, I’m not saying making moodboards/collages is the way to go about dealing with creative slumps, and I definitely didn’t feel super on-the-ball after I was done, or raring to go, but I felt a lot better. Personally, I think just making art while not having to put much thought into it managed to expel the slump in some sort of way…I seriously hope I’m making sense.

Anyway, this post isn’t the usual kind, it’s just a little one to show you what I ended up putting together. I really hope to find more magazines soon (seriously, where the heck did they all go??? I could’ve sworn there was a pile of them in my room last month) so I can keep making these little things because they’re so addictively fun. I sound really crazy, but just try it and hopefully you’ll know what I mean.

Here’s a little guide to making moodboards, but if you want the comprehensive and proper one, you can head over to Roxanne’s moodboard post, linked here, to see the full and awesome thing. Thanks to her for letting me write this post! 🙂

What you’ll need:
  • Magazine clippings, pictures, cut-out doodles (seriously, just whatever you want)
  • Paper/cardstock (I used an A5 sheet of paper)
  • Pens
  • Glue/tape (I recommend glue, though // I used a glue tape dispenser, if that makes any sense)
What to do:
  • Arrange your pictures/clippings/doodles however you’d like on your paper.
  • Glue them down.
  • Add some details/flourishes/whatever you want with a pen.

And that’s seriously it! This project is so simple yet so fun. I love how there are no set rules or anything, you can just go crazy and slap pictures onto cardstock however you wish. I used only IKEA magazines since they have really aesthetic photos, and I quite like how everything turned out!


Now we’re moving onto the pictures. Here’s a few examples of the moodboards I made if you’re feeling stuck as to how to arrange your pictures/what to draw. I tried to go for a dreamy, ethereal sort of feel, but you can once again do whatever you’d like! Also, I gave each page a really weird name, so…yeah, just roll with it.

 

Dusty Rose // I tried to go with a faded, pink theme for this moodboard. Because there were quite a few cutouts with differing shades of pink in them, I decided to cut them into little rectangles and paste them over the other pictures to act as tape and a contrasting feature.

Dusty Rose // I tried to go with a faded, pink theme for this moodboard. Because there were quite a few cutouts I had that were different shades of pink, I decided to cut them into little rectangles and paste them over the other pictures to add a faux tape effect and to act as a contrasting feature.


Thalassics // The word 'thalassic' is one of, if not my favourite word, meaning "relating to the sea". I don't know why I like it so much, but because this moodboard has a pale green/turquoise theme, I decided to name it as such. I'm also 100% sure that "thalassics" is not a real word, but I thought it sounded whimsical, so that's how it happened.

Thalassics // The word ‘thalassic’ is my favourite word, meaning “relating to the sea”. I don’t know why I like it so much, but because this moodboard has a pale green/turquoise theme, I decided to name it as such. I’m also 100% sure that “thalassics” is not a real word, but I thought it sounded whimsical, so that’s how it happened. The quote about life is also something I really like, since it sounds so deep (but was actually about IKEA furniture, lol).


Dark Filters

Dark Filters // This isn’t a moodboard I like as much, since I’m not really a fan of darker colours, but I still like it nonetheless. The reason it is named as such is because the first thing I thought of when looking at the finished product was that every picture looked like a VSCO filter had been overlayed, hence its name. The cutouts are arranged more neatly in this collage as well, which I feel is a tad too “stiff, unfortunately. But I like the contrast between the crisp white paper and the sharp colours.


This was the first moodboard I made. My personal favourite is the collage of different shades of green in the bottom corner — I don't know why, to me it just looks really cool. I also don't like this as much as the others, as there's too much space between the centre and the pictures, but it's all good.

Greenery // This was the first moodboard I made. My personal favourite is the collage of different shades of green in the bottom corner — I don’t know why, to me it just looks really cool. I also don’t like this as much as the others, as there’s too much space between the centre and the pictures, but it’s all good. Besides, the quote about home sounds really sweet to me.


Warm Neutrals // This board is one of my personal favourites. The warm colours make me feel a sense of home, especially with the picture of the coffee cup resting in someone's lap. The cutouts of bread and lamps in the top corner, for some reason remind me of home (I don't even know why), but I really love how everything looks so warm and inviting.

Warm Neutrals // This board is one of my personal favourites. The warm colours make me feel a sense of home, especially with the picture of the coffee cup resting in someone’s lap. The cutouts of bread and lamps in the top corner, for some reason remind me of home (I don’t even know why), but I really love how everything looks so warm and inviting.

And that’s it! All five of my current moodboards. After I source for more IKEA magazines, I’ll be back at the scrapbooking again, but for now these are all I have. To quickly end this post, since I’m sure it’s pretty long, I hope you enjoyed seeing my take on Roxanne’s post and hopefully inspired you to make moodboards of your own! Thanks for reading, have a great week. 🙂

<3, hannah

 

2 thoughts on “Moodboard Musings

    • hannahswifi says:

      Thank you so much oh my gosh, I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed it so much!! :”) Thanks so much for the flattering comment haha you’re too nice — I’m sure yours are way artsier than mine lolol with super cute doodles and things. Thanks for allowing me to post it as well! You’ve just made my day with your super lovely comment <33

      <3, hannah
      https://hannahswifi.wordpress.com

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

